Home > Uncategorized > Player Of The Year

Player Of The Year

No, not FIOFAFI’s, but the Professional Footballers’ Association awards.

While FIOFAFI has its rankings, player polls and “Self-Rater”, the PFA has its Players’ Player Of The Year.

The award is regarded by the players themselves as extremely prestigious, with Teddy Sheringham describing it in 2001 as “the biggest personal award you can get in the game”,[5] and John Terry stating in 2005 that he considered it “the ultimate accolade to be voted for by your fellow professionals whom you play against week-in and week-out”.

The trophy will be awarded at the PFA’s annual dinner this Sunday, 26 April 2009.

As voting took place before [Manchester] United’s recent dip in form, it is perhaps no surprise the … club provide five contenders – including Ryan Giggs, who has never won the prestigious award despite boasting a record 10 league titles.

Gerrard could benefit from a split vote for United players as David Ginola did during the 1999 treble-winning season, ….

Aside from Giggs, Rio Ferdinand and Edwin van der Sar … are also nominated, along with Cristiano Ronaldo, who could become the first player to win three times in succession.

Wholl win it?

Who'll win it this year?

Even if Ronaldo wins the crown a third time, to add to the Ballon D’Or (European Footballer Of The Year) and World Footballer Of The Year titles he won last year, it doesn’t answer the question whether he is “the world’s greatest player, or just an over-hyped two-trick diving show pony”.

However, the favourite to lift the trophy is the remaining nominee, Nemanja Vidic.    Fortunately for him, the voting was completed before his sending off against Liverpool last month and his several dodgy performances since.

The title has been awarded every year since 1974.   Apart from Ronaldo, only Thierry Henry has won it in successive years (2003 and 2004).   Only two other players, Mark Hughes (1989 and 1991) and Alan Shearer (1995 and 1997) have won it twice.

In the 35 times that the title has been awarded, Manchester United players have won it 8 times.  Second highest is Liverpool, with 5 players.

The PFA Young Player Of The Year trophy has also been awarded every year since 1974.    The contenders this year are Aaron Lennon (Tottenham Hotspur), Ashley Young and Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Jonny Evans and Rafael Da Silva (Manchester United), and Stephen Ireland (Manchester City).

The PFA Team Of The Year for each of Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two will also be named at the dinner on Sunday.

Since 2001, the PFA have also had a Fans’ Player Of The Year.

The term “Footballer Of The Year” in England is reserved for the player chosen by the Football Writers’ Association at the end of each season since 1948.   As unlike the PFA, the FWA waits until the end of the season before awarding its accolade, the entire season is taken into account.   The PFA don’t have time for this over the summer, as they rush off for their holidays.

In its 61 seasons, players from Liverpool have won the FWA title 10 times, followed by players from Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur with 8 each (which only goes to show that most journalists in England are or were Tottenham fans).

Unlike the awards by the PFA and the FWA, which are given for each football season, the European and World Players Of The Year are given according to calendar years.

As far as the three different awards in England are concerned (PFA Players award, PFA Fans award and FWA award), each season, a player that wins one tends to win one other, if not all three.

What about an “Unsung Player Of The Year”?  Or is that an oxymoron?

Rajseran, what’s the betting on the PFA awards?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Yaseen
    Fri 24 April 2009 at 10:18 am

    All the excitement and hype i had was short lived… I thought it was FIOFAFI player of the year and wanted to vote for FRANCO…

  2. rajseran
    Fri 24 April 2009 at 10:25 am

    Go with

    Stephen Ireland (Manchester City).

    HE has been consistent and with my Yahoo Fantasy League which i am still surviving with only 6 games left , he has been helping me alot with my points .

    As for the rest , Not consistent .

  3. rajiv
    Mon 27 April 2009 at 8:10 am

    Ryan Giggs won the PFA’s Players’ Player Of The Year award last night.

    Ashley Young was the Young Player Of The Year.

    The Teams Of The Year:

    • Premier League: Edwin Van der Sar (Manchester United), Glen Johnson (Portsmouth), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Ryan Giggs (Manchester United), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Fernando Torres (Liverpool)

    • Championship: Keiren Westwood (Coventry), Kyle Naughton (Sheff Utd), Roger Johnson (Cardiff), Richard Stearman (Wolves), Daniel Fox (Coventry), Michael Kightly (Wolves), Stephen Hunt (Reading), Joe Ledley (Cardiff), Jordi Gomez (Swansea, on loan from RCD Espanyol), Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolves), Jason Scotland (Swansea).

    • League One: Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe), Neal Eardley (Oldham), Jack Hobbs (Leicester), Sean O’Hanlon, Dean Lewington (both MK Dons), Fabian Delph (Leeds), Matt Oakley (Leicester), Chris Taylor (Oldham), George Boyd (Peterborough), Rickie Lambert (Bristol Rovers), Matt Fryatt (Leicester).

    • League Two: Scott Shearer (Wycombe), Neil Austin (Darlington), Simon King (Gillingham), David McCracken (Wycombe), Tom Kennedy (Rochdale), Omar Daley (Bradford), Dany N’Guessan (Lincoln), Ben Davies (Shrewsbury), Tommy Doherty (Wycombe), Andy Bishop (Bury), Grant Holt (Shrewsbury).

    • rajiv
      Tue 28 April 2009 at 9:07 am

      On BBC Sport:

      The winner of the PFA Player of the Year award is voted for by his peers and 35-year-old Giggs topped the ballot despite only having started 12 games this season.

  1. Fri 24 April 2009 at 8:45 am
  2. Mon 27 April 2009 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: